If you are being trolled, bullied or harassed on Facebook and you think it may pass then you could just add them to add them your restricted list. Putting someone on the Restricted list means that you’re still friends, but that you only share your posts with them when you choose Public as the audience, or when you tag them in the post.
For example, if you're friends with your boss and you put them on your Restricted list, then post a photo and choose Friends as the audience, you aren’t sharing that photo with your boss, or anyone else on your Restricted list. However, if you tag your boss in the photo, or chose Public as the audience, they’ll be able to see the photo.
How do I add them to a restricted list
If you want to take them off the list
If you have been harassed for more than 2-3 weeks or if you have been assaulted, asked to provide inappropriate pictures etc. You may want to block someone immediately. Blocking the person really helps stops things from esculating.
Some people worry that they won't be able to see what the person is saying. But experience shows, that if an abuser knows you can see their FB they will put things on they want you to see. In other words they start using FB or any other social media as tool to get to you. If you can't see it and they know it, then it takes away that power. .
Blocking allows you to prevent most interactions with someone on Facebook. People you block won't be able to find you in searches, view your timeline, or contact you with pokes or personal messages. In addition, they will not be able to see your timeline posts, comments on mutual friends’ timelines, or that you are a member of the same group as them.
However, there are certain instances when an individual you have blocked from your account may be able to view your comments on the site and vice versa, including comments on a mutual friend's photo.
What happens when you block someone?
The Person will no longer be able to:
See things you post on your timeline
Invite you to events or groups
Start a conversation with you
Add you as a friend
Blocking is reciprocal, so you also won't be able to do things like start a conversation with them or add them as a friend. You don't have to be friends to block someone but if you're FB friends, blocking the person automatically also unfriend him.
Keep in mind that blocking someone may not prevent all communications or interactions, such as in apps or groups, and only affects your experience on Facebook, not elsewhere on the web.
Blocking someone is completely confidential, and the person will not be notified that he or she has been blocked. However, they may notice that you are not on your friends list or are unable to see you on Facebook and then realise they have been blocked.
Yes, but removing a block will not restore a connection. If you block a friend and then remove that person from your block list, you will need to send them a new friend request.
If you are having trouble finding the person you want to block, note that you can also block someone by submitting their email address. If the email address you submit is associated with an account, that user will be blocked from viewing your content. If the email address is not associated with an account, then the user will be blocked if they open an account in the future.
You don't have to be friends to block someone, you can block anyone by using adding their profile name or email. If you are using Facebook you should block anyone harassing you as a precaution.
But blocking someone doesn't stop them from being able to look at your public profile and if you have mutual friends they will be able to view any pictures you share with them or posts that you put on their page.