How do I block someone and will they know?

How do I block someone and will they know?

To stop harassment and stalking from escalating - block, block, block

If you are being trolled, bullied or harassed on Facebook and you think it may pass then you could just add them to add them your restricted list. Putting someone on the Restricted list means that you’re still friends, but that you only share your posts with them when you choose Public as the audience, or when you tag them in the post.

For example, if you're friends with your boss and you put them on your Restricted list, then post a photo and choose Friends as the audience, you aren’t sharing that photo with your boss, or anyone else on your Restricted list. However, if you tag your boss in the photo, or chose Public as the audience, they’ll be able to see the photo.

How do I add them to a restricted list

  1. Go to the person's profile page
  2. Click the down arrow on Friends box
  3. Click on Restricted

If you want to take them off the list

  1. In the upper right hand corner there is a padlock with a drop down menu
  2. Click on settings
  3. Go to your Blocking which you will find on the left hand side under Privacy and Timeline and Tagging
  4. Select Blocking
  5. Restricted list is the first option, click Edit List
  6. Select the person you want to take off the list, then they will see your posts again.

What if I want to Block them?

If you have been harassed for more than 2-3 weeks or if you have been assaulted, asked to provide inappropriate pictures etc. You may want to block someone immediately. Blocking the person really helps stops things from esculating.

Some people worry that they won't be able to see what the person is saying. But experience shows, that if an abuser knows you can see their FB they will put things on they want you to see. In other words they start using FB or any other social media as tool to get to you. If you can't see it and they know it, then it takes away that power. .

What happens when you block someone?

Blocking allows you to prevent most interactions with someone on Facebook. People you block won't be able to find you in searches, view your timeline, or contact you with pokes or personal messages. In addition, they will not be able to see your timeline posts, comments on mutual friends’ timelines, or that you are a member of the same group as them.

However, there are certain instances when an individual you have blocked from your account may be able to view your comments on the site and vice versa, including comments on a mutual friend's photo.

How do I block them?

  1. In the upper right hand corner there is a padlock with a drop down menu
  2. Click on settings
  3. Go to your Blocking which you will find on the left hand side under Priacy and Timeline and Tagging
  4. Select Block users put the users name or email in the box provided click block
  5. You can also unblock them at the same place.

If you block users from seeing your FB also block them from sending you messages!

 

Tip: If someone is harassing you don't just block them - block their close friends too. Because if you don't they can have them watch you. It is also a good idea to get your close friends to block the person harassing you too.

 

What happens when you block someone?

The Person will no longer be able to:

  • See things you post on your timeline

  • Tag you

  • Invite you to events or groups

  • Start a conversation with you

  • Add you as a friend

Blocking is reciprocal, so you also won't be able to do things like start a conversation with them or add them as a friend. You don't have to be friends to block someone but if you're FB friends, blocking the person automatically also unfriend him.

Keep in mind that blocking someone may not prevent all communications or interactions, such as in apps or groups, and only affects your experience on Facebook, not elsewhere on the web.

Will they know if I blocked them

Blocking someone is completely confidential, and the person will not be notified that he or she has been blocked. However, they may notice that you are not on your friends list or are unable to see you on Facebook and then realise they have been blocked.

Can Unblock them?

Yes, but removing a block will not restore a connection. If you block a friend and then remove that person from your block list, you will need to send them a new friend request.

Blocking someone using their email account

If you are having trouble finding the person you want to block, note that you can also block someone by submitting their email address. If the email address you submit is associated with an account, that user will be blocked from viewing your content. If the email address is not associated with an account, then the user will be blocked if they open an account in the future.

Can I block somone even if I'm not friends with them?

You don't have to be friends to block someone, you can block anyone by using adding their profile name or email. If you are using Facebook you should block anyone harassing you as a precaution.

But blocking someone doesn't stop them from being able to look at your public profile and if you have mutual friends they will be able to view any pictures you share with them or posts that you put on their page.


Need more help dealing with harassment then go to other sections on our website:

About abusers     Victims AdvicePartner/ex

Download our free e-book on controlling behaviours

Download our free e-book on controlling behaviours

Read our advice on how to secure your

Android phone

IPhone

Microsoft phone


Take our survey on partner and ex-partner abuse

Take our survey on partner and ex-partner abuse

Most stalkers are someone you know a current or ex-partner, friends, work colleagues or family.

Most stalkers are someone you know a current or ex-partner, friends, work colleagues or family.

Advice for Stalking Victims using Facebook

Advice for Stalking Victims using Facebook