How To Block Users on Twitter

How To Block Users on Twitter

(source: Twitter.com)

Blocking users on Twitter

bigstock-Young-Man-Lokking-In-The-Scree-52151653.jpg

Block is a function that helps you control how you interact with other users on Twitter. When you block another account on Twitter, that account will not be able to follow you or view your Tweets when logged in. Blocked users do not receive any notifications alerting them that their account has been blocked. However, if a blocked user visits the profile of a user who has blocked them, they will notice they have been blocked (unlike mute, which is invisible to muted users).

You can access a list of accounts you have blocked by visiting your blocked account settings. You can unblock any of those accounts from that list.

Some important things to know about block:

  • Accounts you have blocked cannot follow you, and you cannot follow an account you have blocked.
  • Blocking an account you are currently following will cause you to unfollow that account. If you unblock that account, you will have to follow that account again.
  • You will not receive notifications when an account you have blocked mentions you.

    Blocked users cannot:

    • Follow you.
    • View your Tweets, following or followers lists, photos, videos, lists or favorites when logged in.
    • Add your Twitter account to their lists.
    • Tag you in a photo.

    Tweets from blocked users will not appear in your timeline. However, note that Tweets from others that mention blocked users may appear in your timeline (for example, if you follow that user) or your notification timeline (if a Tweet mentions you).

    To block a Twitter user on the web:

    1. Go to the profile page of the person you wish to block.
    2. Click or tap the gear icon  on their profile page. This brings up a drop-down actions menu.
    3. Select Block or Report from the options listed.
    4. Click Block to confirm.

     

    To block a Twitter user on iOS:

    Blocking from a Tweet:

    1. Tap a Tweet from the user you’d like to block.
    2. Tap the More icon (•••).
    3. Tap Block or Report and then Block to confirm.

      Blocking from a profile:

      1. Visit the profile page of the user you wish to block.
      2. Tap the gear icon 
      3. Tap Block or Report and then Block to confirm.

        To block a Twitter user on Twitter for Android:

        Blocking from a Tweet:

        1. Tap the overflow icon
        2. Tap Block or Report and then Block to confirm.

          Blocking from a profile:

          1. Visit the profile page of the user you wish to block.
          2. Tap the gear icon 
          3. Tap Block or Report and then Block to confirm.

            How do I know if I have blocked someone?

            When you visit the profile of a user you have blocked, the Follow button will be replaced by a Blocked button.

            Additionally, the Tweets of a user you have blocked are hidden when you visit their profile. However, you can see the Tweets from that user by clicking the View Tweets button.

            To access a list of accounts you have blocked:

            1. Navigate to your blocked account settings on twitter.com. You will see a list of every account you are currently blocking.
            2. You can unblock users by clicking the Blocked button (it will read Unblocked when you hover over it).

              To unblock a Twitter user:

              1. Visit the blocked account's profile on Twitter.
              2. Click or tap the gear icon  on their profile page. This brings up a drop-down actions menu.
              3. Select Unblock.

               

              How to delete your Facebook account

              How to delete your Facebook account

              What do you mean share cautiously?

              What do you mean share cautiously?